In Pennsylvania, the speed limits on the roads that you will use are really important to know like the back of your hand. If you are driving and don’t see any speed limit signs the limit will be 55 miles per hour unless otherwise indicated. On interstate highways, the speed limit will be indicated immediately after each intersection, then on the highways you will see the speed limit posted at half mile intervals.
Pay close attention if you are entering a school zone, should you see the school light signs flashing, you will need to reduce your sped immediately to 15 miles an hour. Also, if you do not see them flashing, you should note the times that the speed reduction is in force on the time indicators posted on these signs.
Know seat belt and child restraint rules
First of all, it is necessary for all drivers and front seat passengers in cars, light trucks and motor homes to wear a seat belt at all times. If you are carrying children who are aged over eight years old but are less than 18 years old will need to wear a seat belt at all times regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle. As a driver who is under 18 years of age, you can carry no more passengers than you have seat belts in your vehicle.
The driving laws state that if you are carrying children aged less than 4 years they need to be seated in a child passenger restraining seat that is federally approved. For children aged between 4 and 8 years old you can install a federally approved booster seat, these seats help the child to be safely belted in without the straps causing discomfort.
Don't use your cell phone
Currently, there are no state wide restrictions on the use of cell phones in Pennsylvania while driving. However if you are driving in Philadelphia, you need to put your mobile down as the use of cell phones by drivers is prohibited. This law also applies to using your cell phones to send test messages. As holding your cell phone while driving is proven to distract you from driving safely it is strongly advised to use a hands-free system at all times wherever you are driving in Pennsylvania. Also don’t play with your navigation system while you are driving, stop the car to program it before driving on. Remember, any distraction could lead to you causing an accident.
Use your lights
The moment you have to use your windshield wipers even on interval wiping you must turn on your headlights. The same rule applies regardless of the weather conditions if you are driving in work zones so don’t forget to turn your headlights on. Regularly check your lights to make sure that they are all working correctly before you set off on your drive.
Speed limits in New Jersey
If you drive through New Jersey, you need to make sure that you are familiar with the speed limits that apply. In suburban zones both business and residential the speed limit will be 35 miles an hour. School zones in business or residential districts apply a speed limit of 25 miles an hour. In open country, you are allowed to drive at speeds up to 50 miles an hour. You can increase your speed to 55 miles an hour on some state highways given not indicated to the contrary and up to 65 miles an hour on some interstate highways.
Speeding fines are imposed depending on the speed you were doing and how far over the speed limit you were travelling at. Double fines will be imposed by every 10 miles an hour or more you exceeded the speed limits. You could also receive double fines for other motoring law violations that you commit in a 65 mile an hour zone. Also take care to note the speeding fines can be doubled for speed violations in work zones in New Jersey.
Rules for child restraints and seat belts
In New Jersey, the law states that all drivers and front seat passengers must wear a seat belt. In addition the driver is personally responsible for all car occupants aged under 18 years to have belted up. Front seat passengers aged over 18 are personally responsible for making sure that they are wearing their seat belts. You will need to aware of the age and weight of your younger passengers. Passengers aged 8 years or less or who weigh in at 80 pounds or less need be using a federally approved child passenger restraint belt installation. Booster seats are also permitted to be installed in the rear seat of your motor car; you should make sure they are fitted to the belt system correctly.
No electronic hand held devices for drivers
The law in New Jersey is quite simple and clear, handheld cell phones and electronic devices cannot be used by drivers on any highway or public road. However the use of hands-free devices is permitted, so long as its use does not interfere with federal electronic equipment.
Through an experienced driving instructor in Philadelphia, you will learn more about the driving rules specific to Philadelphia and its surrounding regions. This is why it is always important to select a reliable driving school with top notch instructors to help you start off your driving experience on the right foot.